The Sanskrit word Chakra literally means a wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. Chakras have the ability to receive, assimilate and transmit energy. Each chakra is a vortex, spinning life-force energy into or out of the body. This invisible energy, called Prana, or Qi, is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive. This energy field, called the aura, also surrounds us like a bubble. The aura is the electromagnetic field that surrounds the human body (Human Energy Field-HEF). Click here to read more about the aura.....

There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet. 

The first chakra (root) is located at the base of the spine and the seventh chakra (crown) is located on the top of your head. The other five chakras, (sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, and brow) are aligned in sequence along your spine, neck, and skull. Their function is to vitalize the physical body by feeding in positive energy and clearing negative energy by interaction with our body’s endocrine and lymphatic systems. Chakras are the interface between our physical, mental and emotional dimensions.

1. The first chakra, the Root Chakra, is associated with our basic animal instincts of survival and self-preservation.

Color: deep red
Element:  earth

Location: base of spine, perineum

Associated body parts: coccyx, anus, large intestine,  adrenal glands, back, legs, feet, bones

Basic issues:  safety, survival, shelter, groundedness, nourishment, self-esteem, trust, boundaries, physical health

2. The second chakra, the Sacral Chakra, is the focal point of our emotions, sexuality, and creativity.

Color: burnt orange
Element:  water
Location: lower abdomen, lower back, sexual organs
Associated body parts:  hips, lower back, sexual organs, bladder, kidneys, stomach, bodily fluids (tears, urine, blood, menstrual fluids)
Basic issues:  pleasure, sexuality, sensuality, emotions, intimacy, warmth, creativity, confidence

3. The third chakra, the Solar Plexus Chakra, is associated with identity and self-esteem.

Color: golden yellow
Element:  fire
Location: abdomen
Associated body parts:  stomach, liver, gallbladder, spleen, adrenal glands
Basic issues:  ego, self-esteem, vitality, forcefulness, perception, insight, will, discipline

4. The fourth chakra, the Heart Chakra, is located at the center of chest. 

Color: emerald green
Element:  air
Location: center of the chest
Associated body parts:  heart, lungs, diaphragm, chest, thymus, circulatory system, shoulders, arms, hands
Basic issues:  love, compassion, kindness, relationships, self-acceptance, forgiveness, hope, sympathy, empathy

5. The fifth chakra, the Throat Chakra, is associated with sound and has to do with creative self-expression, speech and communication. 

Color: turquoise
Element:  ether
Location: throat, neck
Associated body parts:  throat, neck, ears, jaw, mouth, teeth, gums, tongue, thyroid gland
Basic issues:  communication, creativity, expression, humility, manifesting ideas

6. The sixth chakra, the Third Eye Chakra, is associated with sight and seeing, both intuitively and physically.  

Color: indigo
Element:  light
Location: between and above the eyes
Associated body parts:  eyes, brain, pituitary and pineal glands, lympatic and endocrine systems
Basic issues:  clairvoyance, telepathy, wisdom, connection to the higher self, imagination, dreams, ideas, reasoning

7. The seventh chakra, the Crown Chakra, is known as the “thousand-petaled lotus”, the symbol of purity and spirituality.  

Color: white or violet
Element:  energy
Location: top of the head
Associated body parts:  center of the head, brain, fontanel
Basic issues:  wisdom, intuitive knowing, spiritual development, humanitarianism, selflessness, connection to the Divine, universal higher consciousness

The chakras absorb energy generated from our thoughts, feelings and outside environment and relay this to our body. Our body is affected by the quality of the energy that passes through the chakras.  For instance, if we have negative feelings, we will be filtering negative energy through our chakras and into our body. Over time this can manifest as physical illness. Our chakras also absorb energy from the environment, other people's negative emotions or even a room full of clutter will produce an unhealthy energy which we absorb.

Balancing the energy flow in our chakras is valuable for maintaining optimal physical, emotional and mental health. Chakras are like the power stations of our body, bringing it to life, and keeping it healthy. Each chakra is associated with different body parts, emotions and life areas, so in balancing each chakra, you will be giving energy and assisting in the resolution­­­ to any issues or problems that you may have.

Reiki is a very effective way of working with chakras and assisting them to maintain balance and harmony. Chakra balancing offers very positive results - improving your health and making you feel good about yourself. 

Chakra Balancing

Schedule an Appointment   +19083920774